University of Antwerp: Masters Program in Development Studies

Deadline: 1 February 2016

Institute of Development Policy and Management (IOB)

IOB currently offers three one-year Master programmes in Development Studies:

  1. Master in Globalisation and Development
  2. Master in Development Evaluation and Management
  3. Master in Governance and Development
Topics include poverty, climate change, conflict, good governance, sustainable development, and others.

This link contains some of the Scholarships for Development Studies


TechWomen 2016:U.S. Department of State

DEADLINE: February 1st 2016

TechWomen empowers, connects, and supports the next generation of women leaders in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) from Africa, Central Asia, and the Middle East by providing them the access and opportunity needed to advance their careers, pursue their dreams, and inspire women and girls in their communities.

Through mentorship and exchange, TechWomen strengthens participants’ professional capacity, increases mutual understanding between key networks of professionals, and expands girls’ interest in STEM careers by exposing them to female role models.


MasterCard Foundation Scholars Program : Michigan State University


The program is open to residents and citizens of Sub-Saharan African countries. Students must be first-time applicants to MSU. Transfer students are not eligible for the program.

The fields of study at MSU include agriculture and natural resources; veterinary medicine; natural sciences; and many others.

  • Prior completion of a Bachelors Degree from an African University with academic achievements suggesting continued academic success as a graduate student.
  • Strong commitment to a professional path in line with an area of study that can positively impact Africa.
  • An interest in and capacity for give-back, evidenced by commitment and engagement on campus, in professional pursuits and/or community.
  • Manifest ethical behavior and strong character essential to joining The MasterCard Foundation Scholars Network.
  • Ability to deal with change, uncertainty, and adversity, as well as interest in other countries and cultures, necessary to succeed as a student overseas and represent one's home country
  • Significant financial need and/or from lowest income bracket in country of origin
  • Commitment to return to Africa and give back in ways that enhance the economic growth and social development of Africa.


Australia Awards for Africa 2016: Scholarships and Fellowships

Deadline: 30 November 2015

Australia Awards, a cornerstone of the Australian Government’s development assistance program for Africa, provide access to postgraduate education, training and professional development opportunities for suitably qualified Africans from eligible countries

Australia Awards funds qualified African candidates for masters studies in Australia in priority subjects that include agriculture and food security; natural resource management (including mining and mining governance); public policy; health; and water and sanitation.

Award types include:
      •    Australian Awards Scholarships, to undertake higher degree studies in Australia at Masters level.
      •    Australia Awards Short Courses, to undertake short-term, targeted professional training courses, in    Australia and/or in Africa, in a range of development-focused sectors.


Commonwealth Scholarships for Master’s and PhD study – developing Commonwealth country citizens

DEADLINE: 19 November 2015 23.59 (GMT)

Commonwealth Scholarships for Master’s and PhD study in the UK are offered for citizens of developing Commonwealth countries. These scholarships are funded by the UK Department for International Development (DFID), with the aim of contributing to the UK’s international development aims and wider overseas interests, supporting excellence in UK higher education, and sustaining the principles of the Commonwealth.

You can apply for a Commonwealth Scholarship for the following levels of study:

      •    Master’s (one-year courses only)
      •    PhD

All subject areas are eligible, although the CSC’s selection criteria give priority to applications that demonstrate the strongest relevance to development.

You should apply to study at a UK university with which the CSC has a part funding agreement.

The CSC promotes equal opportunity, gender equity, and cultural exchange. Applications are encouraged from a diverse range of candidates. The CSC is committed to administering and managing its scholarships and fellowships in a fair and transparent manner